I have only one in for certification, the Turkey Trot course. That's the one I encountered the issue. It didn't stop me from completing the application. It just wouldn't take my entry for the date of the event even though I had the date.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .