Skip to main content

In my role as an IAAF/AIMS area administrator, I have received a measurement report for approval. The pre calibration was done at 8am with temperature of 29C and post calibration was done at 5pm at 30C. WC = 11382 and FC = 11428. The measurer has made no comment or suggestion on why the post cal is 46 counts higher than the pre cal. I have gone back to him and asked for more information as I suspect a slow leak or, indeed, something more sinister. To date I've had no response.

This is an IAAF/AIMS measurement and measurers almost always take the average of the WC and FC to calculate the Constant for the Day. This has been done in this case to adjust the course.

Re-measurement of the course prior to the race is probably not an option (race in one country, measurer in another country). Depending on any answers from the measurer, my plan is to use the WC as the Constant for the Day and ask that the marathon course be lengthened by (46/2 x 42.195) 970 counts (approx 85m).

Any other thoughts? Has anyone seen such a large calibration variation with minimal temperature change?

Dave Cundy
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The difference of 46 counts per kilometer between the pre and post calibrations is much greater than I have ever had measuring. If I experienced this measuring, I would assume something was wrong. I would discard my measurements, check my bicycle and start over.
The time from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. is much greater than I have ever allowed between pre and post calibration rides. When I have bicycled a half marathon for certification twice in a day, I have calibrated my bicycle between the two rides. That is three calibration rides; but if I have a flat tire the second time bicycling the half marathon, I wouldn't loose the first measurement. I can bicycle a 10 K fast enough to do it twice between pre and post calibrations.

I would use the larger of the WC and FC or use the average of the two.

Dale Summers